Storm from the East || Book Review

Title: Storm from the East (Glass Alliance #2)
Author: Joanna Hathaway
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, High Fantasy, Adventure
Publisher: Tor Teen
No. of Pages: Hardcover, 496
Publication Date: February 11, 2020
Date Read: January 24, 2020
Rating: 4.5/5

Goodreads | Amazon | B+N | TBD | iTunes | Kobo | Google Books


Synopsis

Battles, revolution, and romance collide in Joanna Hathaway’s stunning, World Wars-inspired sequel to Dark of the West.

Part war drama, part romance, Storm from the East is the second novel in Joanna Hathaway’s immersive, upmarket YA fantasy series that will appeal to readers of Sabaa Tahir, Marie Rutkoski, and Evelyn Skye.

War has begun, and the days of Athan’s and Aurelia’s secret, summer romance feel a world away. Led by Athan’s father, the revolutionary Safire have launched a secret assault upon the last royal kingdom in the South, hoping to depose the king and seize a powerful foothold on the continent. Athan proves a star pilot among their ranks, struggling to justify the violence his family has unleashed as he fights his way to the capital–where, unbeknownst to him, Aurelia has lived since the war’s onset. Determined to save the kingdom Athan has been ordered to destroy, she partners with a local journalist to inflame anti-Safire sentiment, all while learning this conflict might be far darker and more complex than she ever imagined.

When the two reunite at last, Athan longing to shake the nightmare of combat and Aurelia reeling from the discovery of a long-buried family truth come to light, they’ll find the shadow of war stretches well beyond the battlefield. Each of them longs to rekindle the love they once shared… but each has a secret they’re desperate to hide.


Review

Thanks to Tor Teen for having ending me an e-galley to review!

I’m so glad that I had a chance to be a part of this blog tour for Storm from the East. After reading Dark of the West, I needed to know what happened next in Athan and Aurelia’s story. Following Dark of the West, Athan and Aurelia continue to be on opposite sides of the war. The Safire are planning war whether they have the good graces of the League and Athan finds himself in the middle of it all. On his father and brothers orders, he’s added to one of the crews headed towards the capital of the South. On mission after mission, he gets through while thinking of Aurelia. Aurelia has left her Northern home to visit the South with the Ambassador. While there, she strikes up a friendship with one of Ambassador’s servants who writes and distributes pamphlets telling everyone exactly what is happening on the front lines. Aurelia ends up at the capital under the watch of the last royal of the South and there finds more about who she really is and why her mother refuses to talk about her heritage. What Aurelia finds is more than she bargained for. When the capital is overthrown, Athan and Aurelia finally have a change to meet again and spend time with one another. Unfortunately, secrets are exposed that leave them both reeling and once again they find themselves at odds. What happens throughout this book is more action and secrets and heartbreak, and leaves you wanting the next book right away.

One of the things that I really liked about this book was that Hathaway didn’t shy away from the complexities of war. Athan, on the front lines, sees really hard things and does really hard things in the name of his country. They’re not all great and sometimes he struggles in the aftermath with what he’s done. He also struggles with a concussion throughout most of the book and you see that it’s not all black and white. Aurelia sees what’s left behind. She witnesses displaced people, people wounded and the images of innocent villages who have become the victims of the war. The other thing that Aurelia does is fight back in her own way. Along with the friend she’s made in the South they create pamphlets to let people know what is really happening at the front lines to the people there. They also find out that again, not everything is black and white in war time. There’s too many informants, there’s too much conflicting information, there’s more than one with a stake in this war.

Another thing that I really loved was finally seeing Athan and Aurelia together again. Throughout the book we see letters that they’ve written to each other but the other never gets. In them, they detail what’s going on with them. They explain their secrets to each other. But the one thing that I loved the most is that at this point when they’re together they really are taking and spending all they can because they know that either could die soon in the future. I did have a slight problem with Aurelia’s view on this because once she finds out who Athan truly is, she has a different view on him. But then again, if she had let him know who she really is, it might have been different. Other than that, I really loved their dynamic. 

I also really loved the glimpse that we got to see of Aurelia’s mother. That there was so much more to her than we truly got to see. I really liked that we got to see her with Aurelia and the letter that she gave her. I also really liked seeing her with Athan and giving him the confidence to do what’s right, regardless of his family’s “legacy.”

Overall, I truly and utterly loved this book. I couldn’t put it down. The plot was fast and action-driven, the story was well-written, and the characters continued to be developed and brought into their own. I loved this book and it is released TODAY! If you’ve read the first book of this series, and even if you haven’t, you don’t wanna miss this.


Author

Joanna Hathaway was born in Montréal and is an avid storyteller who was inspired to write after reading her great-grandfather’s memoirs of the First World War. A lifelong history buff, she now has shelves filled with biographies and historical accounts, and perhaps one too many books about pilots. She can often be found reading, traveling, or riding horses.

Her debut novel Dark of the West is the first in a World Wars-infused fantasy series of forbidden love and deadly revenge. Storm of the East will hit shelves on February 11, 2020.

Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest


Schedule

Make sure to check out the list of blogs below! The time and effort that they’ve put into their reviews and posts are worth it!

Bibliobibuli YA
Write, Read, Repeat
Moonlight Rendezvous
That Transylvanian Chick Book Blog
Book-Keeping
Belle’s Archive
Cover to Cover Book Blog
Books Over Everything
Bookish Looks
L.M. Durand
TheGeekishBrunette
Sometimes Leelynn Reads
A Bookish Dream
NovelKnight
Adventures Thru Wonderland
Jrsbookreviews
Magical Reads
The Bookish Ballad
Library of a Book Witch
Jinxed Reviews
PopTheButterfly Reads
The Reading Life
Kait Plus Books
My Bookish Escapades
Jenerally Reading

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s